Jules Tacheny

Jules Tacheny, world record-breaker

Born in 1907, Jules Tacheny was drawn to motorsport from a very young age. He became a garage apprentice in 1924, but only had one idea in his head: getting into competition. Already a garage-owner at age 18, it was a natural step for him to enter the board of the burgeoning sports club, the Motor Union in the Entre-Sambre-et-Meuse region.

Jules Tacheny’s first motorbike was an FN 350cc and he won his first race in Sorinnes without his parents’ knowledge. Several years after his promising début, Tacheny notched up victory after victory, attracting the attention of the official FN factory team which would take him on board alongside Milhoux, Demeuter and Noir. By 1931, he would have broken no less than 41 world records on the circuit at the stadium in Montlhéry, leading to FN becoming an international household name and surpassing the achievements of the then superior British factory bikes. In 1934 and 1935, Jules Tacheny became Belgian champion in Francorchamps – despite his numerous Grand Prix successes overseas, Tacheny considered winning at home his greatest achievement, something he succeeded at on his own circuit in 1946.

That year, battling through torrential rain and at nearly 40 years of age, Tacheny would go on to complete the fastest round and clinch the Grand Trophy in the Senior category, beating some of the biggest international names of the time, his lifelong dream – which had become almost an obsession – finally becoming reality. He decided to call time on his motorsport competition career in 1952, but would continue at the coalface from the ground right up until his sudden death in a crash on the Floreffe circuit, a venue that had seen him roar to victory in times of old.

L’épopée Moto, les années Jules Tacheny

This book is for sale at 39 € at the Circuit during office hours.

Le Circuit Jules Tacheny

Jules Tacheny, recordman du monde

Né en 1907, Jules Tacheny fût dès son plus jeune âge attiré par les sports mécaniques. En 1924, il entrait comme apprenti-mécano dans un garage et n’avait qu’une idée en tête : la compétition. En 1925, déjà patron de son garage, il entrait tout naturellement comme commissaire sportif dans un nouveau club naissant : l’Union Motor Sambre et Meuse.

Sa première moto fut une F.N 350 cc et lors de sa première course à Sorinnes, il remporta la victoire à l’insu de ses parents… Quelques années après ses débuts prometteurs, il récoltait victoire sur victoire, ce qui lui valut d’être remarqué par l’usine F.N qui l’incorpora dans son écurie officielle aux côtés de Milhoux, Demeuter et Noir. C’est le 26 octobre 1931 qu’il atteindra la grande consécration en battant pas moins de 41 records du monde sur la piste de l’autodrome de Montlhéry. La F.N devint mondialement connue et prenait le pas sur les machines anglaises. En 1934 et 1935, Jules Tacheny était sacré champion de Belgique à Francorchamps. Malgré plusieurs GP à l’étranger, son plus bel exploit à ses yeux, aura été de gagner chez lui, sur ses terres, sur son circuit en 1946.

Cette année-là, sous une pluie battante et en ayant signé le tour le plus rapide, il gagnait à quasi 40 ans son Grand Trophy en Senior devant le gratin des internationaux du moment. Son rêve devenu presque obsession était enfin réalisé. En 1952, il mettait un terme à sa carrière de pilote mais continuait néanmoins à mener à bien plusieurs fonctions liées à la moto et ce, jusqu’à son décès accidentel sur le tracé du circuit de Floreffe qui l’avait vu jadis gagner…

L’épopée Moto, les années Jules Tacheny

Ce livre est en vente au prix de 39€ au Circuit pendant les heures du bureau.